À propos du comté de Limerick

ogradys-map

La culture de Limerick

Limerick est l'une des principales villes de la République irlandaise, située dans la province de Munster dans le sud du pays. Sa vieille ville est connue pour la cathédrale Sainte-Marie (St. Mary's Cathedral) et la place Saint-Jean (St. John's square) qui sont toutes deux bordées de rangées de maisons géorgiennes. À côté du fleuve Shannon, vous trouverez le château du Roi Jean datant du 13e siècle, l'un des sites les plus reconnaissables de la ville.

Le Hunt Museum expose certaines des collections d'art et certains des artefacts les plus connus de Limerick. La Limerick City Gallery of Art rassemble des œuvres irlandaises classiques et modernes. Limerick est également le point d'accès au Lough Gur dont les rives sont parsemées de tombes mégalithiques et au village historique d'Adare.

Pour en savoir plus sur les activités et les évènements dans notre magnifique comté de Limerick, veuillez consulter ilovelimerick.ie.

Le Lough Gur

L'école O'Grady est située dans le comté de Limerick au sud-ouest de l'Irlande. Nous avons la chance de nous trouver juste à côté du Lough Gur, un des sites archéologiques les plus connus d'Europe. En plus de son importance historique, le Lough Gur est réputé pour sa beauté et comme lieu de détente. Les gens viennent de près comme de loin afin de jouir de ses installations. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter le site Internet du Lough Gur.
LoughGur_2002

Wild Atlantic Way

La ville la plus proche de l'école est Limerick qui est à 25 km. Limerick est la troisième plus grande ville d'Irlande et est située à l'embouchure du fleuve Shannon qui est le plus long fleuve d'Irlande et d'Angleterre. Il se trouve également sur le chemin de l'Atlantique sauvage (Wild Atlantic Way). Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter le site Internet du chemin de l'Atlantique sauvage - http://www.wildatlanticway.com/.
wild-atlantic-way

King Johns Castle

Limerick regorge d'architecture géorgienne, et le château du Roi Jean sur les rives du Shannon est un site touristique très connu. Pour plus d'informations sur le château du Roi Jean, veuillez consulter Shannon Heritage. Shannon Heritage
King_John's_Castle_in_Limerick
"Limerick Castle" by Eric The Fish is licensed under CC BY 2.0

The Limerick Milk Market

Le marché au lait de Limerick avec ses échoppes variées est réputé et a lieu tous les vendredis, samedis et dimanches matin. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter Milk Market Limerick .
The_Milk_Market,_Limerick_-_street_scene
"The Milk Market located at Cornmarket Row in the city centre sells locally produced foods and products" by William Murphy - Flickr is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Bunratty Castle

Le château et le parc folklorique (Folk Park) de Bunratty se trouvent juste à l'extérieur de la ville. Il s'agit d'un autre site touristique très populaire qui comprend un château restauré du 15e siècle et un parc folklorique animé avec des maisons, des rues de village et des fermes datant du 19e siècle que vous pouvez visiter. Pour plus d'informations sur Bunratty, veuillez consulter Shannon Heritage. Shannon Heritage
castle-387301

Ballyhoura Country

Les villes locales sont Bruff, Hospital, Kilmallock et Charleville. Nous nous trouvons dans la campagne de Ballyhoura qui dispose de nombreuses attractions et activités pour tous les goûts. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter le site Internet de Ballyhoura Country.
Picture courtesy of www.visitballyhoura.com

About County Limerick

ogradys-map

The Culture Of Limerick

Limerick is one of the Republic of Ireland's major cities, located in the province of Munster in the south of the country. It's old town is renowned for St. Mary's Cathedral and St. John's Square, an area lined with Georgian townhouses. Situated beside the River Shannon is the 13th century King John's Castle, one of the city's most recognisable sites.

The Hunt Museum, displays some of Limerick's most famous art collections and artifacts. The Limerick City Gallery of Art brings together both classical and modern Irish works. Limerick is also a gateway to Lough Gur, whose shores are scattered with ancient magalithic tombs and the historic village of Adare.

For a more in-depth view of activities and events in our beautiful Co. Limerick, visit ilovelimerick.ie.

Lough Gur

O’Grady School is located in Co. Limerick, south west Ireland. We are very lucky to be located right next to Lough Gur, one of the most famous archaeological sites in Europe. As well as it’s historical importance, Lough Gur is a renowned beauty and leisure spot, and it’s facilities are widely used by people far and near. Visit Lough Gur's website for more information.
LoughGur_2002

Wild Atlantic Way

Our nearest city is Limerick, which is located 25km away. Limerick is Ireland’s third city, and is situated at the mouth of the River Shannon, which is the longest river in Ireland or England. It is also positioned on the famous Wild Atlantic Way. Visit Wild Atlantic Way's website for more information.
wild-atlantic-way

King Johns Castle

Limerick is rich in Georgian architecture, and King John’s Castle on the banks of the Shannon is a renowned tourist attraction. Visit Shannon Heritage for more information on King Johns Castle.
King_John's_Castle_in_Limerick
"Limerick Castle" by Eric The Fish is licensed under CC BY 2.0

The Limerick Milk Market

TheLimerick’s Milk Market is famous and the varied street market stalls run every Friday, Saturday and Sunday morning in the city centre. Visit Milk Market Limerick for more information.
The_Milk_Market,_Limerick_-_street_scene
"The Milk Market located at Cornmarket Row in the city centre sells locally produced foods and products" by William Murphy - Flickr is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Bunratty Castle

Just outside the city is Bunratty Castle and Folk Park, and this is another very popular attraction, encompassing a restored 15th century castle and a vibrant Folk Park where 19th century houses, village street and farmsteads can be visited and enjoyed. Visit Shannon Heritage for more information on Bunratty.
castle-387301

Ballyhoura Country

Our local towns are Bruff, Hospital, Kilmallock and Charleville, and we are based in Ballyhoura country, with a myriad of attractions and activities for all. Visit Ballyhoura Country's website for more information.